‘Mean Green’ sails to win in Hospice Cup Regatta Oswego, NY

OSWEGO — Skipper Kirk Reynolds had “Mean Green” sailing like a machine on Saturday at the Oswego County Hospice Cup Regatta.

The Skaneateles sailor led “Mean Green” to the championship of the regatta, held in Lake Ontario off Oswego Harbor.

The event, a fund-raiser for Oswego County Hospice patients and their families, was hosted by the Oswego International Marina and the Oswego Yacht Club. Constellation Energy Nuclear Group was the event’s major sponsor.

A companion walk/run was also held. There was no estimate available as to how much money was raised through the regatta and the walk/run. Last year’s events raised more than $18,000.

“Mean Green,” a J-24, took first-place overall in two of the regatta’s three races, and was second overall in the other race.

By winning the Oswego County Hospice Cup Regatta, Reynolds has qualified for the 2011 National Hospice Regattas Championship, to be held in Rochester.

Finishing second overall in the Oswego County Hospice Cup Regatta was “Oz,” a J-24 skippered by Tom Doran of Oswego. In the three races, “Oz” placed first overall in one and second in the other two.

Completing the top five in the overall standings were “Seaweed,” a J-24 sailed by Charlie Krylo of the Oswego Yacht Club; “Peewee,” a J-24 sailed by Kris Werner; and “Crusader,” a J-30 skippered by Dan Mather of Oswego.

Twenty-five boats raced in the regatta.

The overall Group 2 winner was “Puffin Plus,” sailed by Don Clark of the Selkirk Yacht Club. “Puffin Plus” was the top Group 2 finisher in every race out of the six boats in the group.

Division results

Competition also took place within four divisions.

“Crusader” placed first in Division 1. In the three races, “Crusader” finished first in the division in two of them, taking second in the other race.

“Hiawatha,” sailed by Bob Porter, took second in Division 1. “Moongator,” skippered by Peter Quackenbush, was third.

In Division 2, the champion was “Splash,” sailed by Ron Smith. Following were “Chaser,” sailed by Fran Doyle; and “Judicious,” sailed by Phil McBrearty.

“Mean Green” won Division 3 over “Oz” and “Seaweed.” The division consisted entirely of J-24s.

“Puffin Plus” won Division 4. Completing the top three in the division were “Colorme,” sailed by Mike Sorrell; and “Little Chickadee,” sailed by Dick White.

Walk/run results

Ed Lindo won the run in the Walk/Run for Hope. His time was 21:02. The course was a bit longer than five kilometers.

Completing the top three, according to unofficial results, were Zach McQuaid (21:19) and Nate Sweet (22:19).

Debbie Smith won the women’s run in 24:37. She was followed by Karen Crisafulli (27:31).

Comments are closed.